GENIUS HOUR PROJECT REFLECTION

Kyla’s Blog  

Student Blog Challenge GH Reflection

22 November 2017

Genius Hour Reflection

Hello all,

in my Tech class we recently had a project to do called ‘ Genius Hour ‘ I did a lot of research but did not put it all in, if I have to say so myself I know for a fact that I did not put all of my effort into this project, which one should. I did try though and at the very least it was not horrible but I know for future references that i’m capable of doing better.-  Now if you aren’t too sure what that is here’s a brief explanation  

 

Genius Hour – genius hour is where we as a student pick a topic, make a topic question and research it.. over all we have to see if it has an impact on the world, if it is beneficial for us as students and we share it with the class.

 

For my Genius hour presentation I chose to do research on ‘Photography’, if you saw my blog post on dream jobs I briefly talked about photography, I took an interest in it because “photography is an art and anyone can do.  just seeing the world from a different perspective, seeing how the world changes around us and capturing a memory we can cherish forever. “

I wanted to know the purpose of photography, the general objective behind the whole photography industry and I learned quite a bit such as :

 

  • The first photograph was taken between the year 1826 – 1817 by Joseph Nicéphore Niépce.  – he invented one of the earliest kinds of photography – ‘ Heliography ‘
  • Photographers take photos to express how we feel as one does when they write
  • It tells a story, message or shows expression which the photographer may have been going for
  • If you look at an image in a way you can often tell right off the bat what the photographer is trying to say or show, almost every picture has a meaning and often times only really the photographer can tell you what it is actually supposed to represent because it is their work and us as the outsiders who look at the photos only really have ideas and assumptions of the photograph.

 

So as you can see I just got caught up on a little bit of history, maybe you already knew that or maybe you didn’t.  It really helped not just me but my peers get an idea of a photographer’s minds, I like taking pictures but I would not call myself a photographer. It really made me re-think all of my thoughts on photography because I just had my own basic understandings of it, I didn’t know all there is to know and I still don’t but I do have a better understanding of it.

 

This was the first of many projects we will be doing, in fact our class will be starting Genius Hour 2 soon and I kind of have an idea of what my topic will be but I know I have to step up my work and put all of my effort in, I feel as if my next topic will have the same affect on people, it will let them get a better understanding and see more to the topic than what it really is                                                                                                                                       

 

Sources

 Joseph Nicephore bibliography, 2017. Print.

Genius hour presentation, 2017. Print.

Top genres of photography, 2015. Print.

Purpose, 2017. Print

 

Leave a Reply